• Add to Facebook
  • Add to Twitter
  • Add to Orkut
  • Add to Digg
  • Add RSS Feed
Commonwealth Chess Association
Latest News-






Constitution of Commonwealth Chess Association

Chapter 1 : Status, Principles and Aims of the CCA

    1. The Commonwealth Chess Association (referred to in the text as CCA for short), is the international overall organization in the domain of chess for the nations of the commonwealth namely:-

Antigua + Barbuda; Australia; Bahamas; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belize; Bermuda; Botswana; British Virgin Islands; Brunei; Canada; Cyprus; Dominican; England; Gambia; Ghana; Grenada; Guernsey + Jersey; Guyana; Hong Kong; India; Ireland; Jamaica; Kenya; Kiribati; Lesotho; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Malta; Mauritius; Namibia; Nauru; New Zealand; Nigeria; Pakistan; Papua New Guinea; St. Kitts + Nevis; St. Lucia; St. Vincent + The Grenadines; Scotland; Seychelles; Sierra Leone’ Singapore;  Solomon Islands; Sri Lanka; Swaziland; Tanzania; Tonga; Trinidad + Tobago; Tuvalu; Uganda; Vanuatu; Wales; Western Samoa; Zambia and Zimbabwe. (This list is not exclusive).

    1. The CCA was founded in 1980 and unites the commonwealth chess federations, while keeping strict neutrality in the internal affairs of the national chess federations.
    2. The CCA is concerned with fostering chess activity among the nations of the commonwealth. In particular, it promotes a commonwealth chess championship, which is held on the regular basis.
    3. The CCA supports the World Chess Federation (referred to in the text as FIDE for short) and is in harmony with FIDE’s aims and statutes. The CCA is affiliated to FIDE as per 2.9 (b) of the FIDE statutes.

Chapter 2 :        CCA members – their rights and their duties

2.1      Members of the CCA are the national chess federations of states or parts of states which are members of the commonwealth and which are members of FIDE.

2.2      Members of the CCA shall abide by the statutes of FIDE.

2.3      The CCA shall meet once a year during the meetings of the General Assembly of FIDE. A quorum will be five different members, including the chairman or his nominee.

Chapter 3 :    CCA Board of Governors

3.1      The Board of Governors shall consist of a chairman, a Deputy Chairman, a Treasurer, and Executive Secretary and between.

3.2      The Board of Governors shall be evicted every four years by a simple majority of the members of the CCA.

3.3      Each member In good standing of the CCA shall have one vote when electing the Board of Governors.

3.4      Casual Vacancies on the Board of Governors may be filled by invitation of the remaining members but shall be subject to confirmation by election at the next meeting of the CCA held under Rule 2.3.

Chapter 4  :    Election conditions

4.1      Eligibility for office is normally restricted to those persons who belong to a member federation.

4.2      No person can be elected to a CCA office against the will of his or her national federation.

Chapter 5 : Financial Regulations

5.1     The financial year of the CCA shall begin on July 1st and end on June 30th of each year.

5.2     The budget of the CCA shall normally be handled on the basis of the Swiss monetary system. The treasurer may, in agreement with the chairman, change to another monetary system.

5.3     There will be an annual budget, set up by the Treasurer and approved by the Annual Meeting of the CCA.

5.4     An Annual membership fee shall be set by the Annual Meeting of the CCA.

Chapter 6 :  Changes and Dissolution

6.1     The present statutes can be changed by the Annual Meeting of the CCA, upon proposal by and single member federation. Two thirds of the votes cast without taking into account abstentions are required to effect such changes.

6.2       The CCA shall dissolve whenever the number of members in good standing is reduced to two or less.

6.3       These statutes were approved by the Annual Meeting of the CCA in Manila in June 1992.

Nigeria India Papua New Guinea Rwanda Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Vincent and The Grenadines Samoa Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands South Africa Sri Lanka Swaziland Tanzania Tonga Trinidada and Tobago Tuvalu Uganda United Kingdom Vanuatu Zambia Antiqua and Barbua Australia Bahamas Bangladesh Belize Berbados Botswana Brunei Cameroon Canada Cyprus
Dominica Gambia Ghana Grenada Guyana Pakistan Jamaica Kenya Kiribati Lesotho Malawi Malaysia Maldives Malta Mauritius Mozambique Namibia Nauru New Zeeland

© 2013 Commonwealth Chess Association.
All Rights Reserved.Powered by Guru iNfoways